Get paid for the questions and custom requests you already get from followers.

Create your free Brillay link

Compare

Buy Me a Coffee vs. Gumroad

A fair, fact-checked comparison of Buy Me a Coffee and Gumroad for creators — real fee models, what each platform is built to sell, payouts, and which one fits your audience (plus where a tool for paid requests from followers fits in).

Updated September 2026

Get paid for this — with Brillay

Buy Me a Coffee takes tips, Gumroad sells files — so where does a follower pay upfront for one private question you answer in writing, on your own time?

Brillay is a link in your bio where followers pay you directly for:

Paid QuestionsCustom WorkPersonalized VideosGoalsTips

A Gumroad product has to be finished and uploaded before it can sell; on Brillay you publish a price and a delivery window, and the first custom request arrives already paid, before you've made anything.

No monthly fee, you only pay a small platform fee when you get paid.

Platforms change pricing and features — verify on the provider’s official pages.

Buy Me a Coffee is the better fit for tips, memberships, and lightweight shop sales, while Gumroad is better for repeatedly selling finished digital products. Buy Me a Coffee charges 5% per transaction; Gumroad charges 10% + $0.50 per direct sale or 30% through Discover. Neither requires a monthly fee.

Fees and features can change, so confirm current figures in the Buy Me a Coffee help center and on the Gumroad pricing page before deciding. This comparison is published by Brillay: every Buy Me a Coffee and Gumroad figure below is cited to that company's own official documentation, and every Brillay figure is cited to Brillay's own pricing and how-it-works pages rather than to an independent third party.

Which platform should I pick?

Choose according to what you intend to sell:

  • Choose Buy Me a Coffee for one-click support, optional memberships, and simple shop listings. Buy Me a Coffee charges a 5% platform fee per transaction and no monthly fee (official charge documentation).
  • Choose Gumroad for finished digital products such as e-books, courses, preset packs, and templates. Gumroad charges 10% + $0.50 per direct sale and 30% when a customer buys through Discover (official pricing).

Choose Buy Me a Coffee when supporters want to help you keep writing, drawing, or making free work; choose Gumroad when buyers want the same finished download each time. Based on their documented features, neither platform is built around letting someone pay you for one private answer, one custom video, or one small piece of custom work. Gumroad’s repeatable digital-product model starts with a finished product; on Brillay, you publish what you’ll make and the delivery window, then the first order can arrive before the first file exists.

How do Buy Me a Coffee and Gumroad compare?

DimensionBuy Me a CoffeeGumroad
Core modelA platform that "helps creators earn support, share their work, and build community," combining one-click support, memberships, and simple shop listingsA platform "perfect for anyone who makes and sells products," used for e-books, courses, templates, and presets
Monthly cost$0 monthly; the platform charges when a transaction occurs (official charges)$0 monthly; there are no premium tiers (official pricing)
Platform fee5% per transaction; Buy Me a Coffee states that creators keep 95% before other applicable fees (official charges)10% + $0.50 per direct sale or 30% for a sale through Discover (official pricing)
Payment processingSeparate from the 5% platform fee; the documentation also lists an additional 1% for non-US transactions, 0.5% for subscription payments, and a 0.5% payout fee (official charges)Direct-sale pricing does not include card-processing or PayPal fees; the 30% Discover rate includes processing (official pricing)
Recurring optionMemberships billed every 30 days (monthly) or every 365 days (yearly) (membership billing guide)Membership products with monthly, quarterly, biannual, or yearly billing tiers (Gumroad payment-form frequency parameters)
Personalized requestsNo dedicated paid-request format listed among Buy Me a Coffee's documented product types (editorial read of the linked feature pages)No dedicated per-follower request format; Gumroad's own product-creation guide describes products as content added once and delivered on every sale, not prepared per buyer
File deliveryCreator uploads a file (PDF, image, eBook, or other digital file) to a Shop listing, or redirects buyers to an external URL after purchaseFree products have a 250 MB total file-size limit; products priced above $0.99 allow single files up to 20 GB, with unlimited files per product (Gumroad file-size-limits documentation)
Refunds & chargebacksRefunds are creator-approved or investigation-based and, once approved, take 5–7 business days; a card dispute typically resolves in 60–90 days with a dispute fee usually $15 in the US (Buy Me a Coffee refund policy; chargeback handling)Gumroad can issue a refund within 90 days of purchase at its discretion, and automatically enforces a 30-day money-back guarantee on a creator's account if more than 1% of that creator's customers dispute a purchase
Sales-tax roleThe cited fee documentation does not identify Buy Me a Coffee as the worldwide merchant of record; creators should confirm their collection and remittance obligations for each jurisdiction (official charges)Gumroad has acted as merchant of record and handled sales-tax collection and remittance worldwide since January 1, 2025, at no additional cost (official pricing)
PayoutsPayouts go through Stripe; the first payout can take approximately 7–14 days before recurring processing begins (official payout timing)Gumroad requires a $100 USD minimum balance to trigger a payout, lets creators pick a daily, weekly, monthly, or quarterly schedule, and pays by direct deposit or PayPal depending on the creator's country, with bank payouts taking roughly 2–7 business days to arrive (Gumroad getting-paid documentation)
Follower minimumNot stated as a requirement in Buy Me a Coffee's fee and account-setup documentation searched for this comparison (official charges)Not stated as a requirement in Gumroad's pricing and "is Gumroad for me" documentation searched for this comparison (official pricing)

For context, Stripe’s published standard rate for a US online card transaction is approximately 2.9% + $0.30. That is a US benchmark, not a universal rate: actual processing costs can vary by country, payment method, card origin, and currency.

Which platform has the lower transaction fee?

Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% platform fee is always lower than Gumroad’s 10% + $0.50 direct-sale platform fee at the same transaction price. The two rates do not converge mathematically.

For a direct sale with price (P):

  • Buy Me a Coffee platform fee: (0.05P)
  • Gumroad direct-sale platform fee: (0.10P + $0.50)
  • Difference: (0.05P + $0.50), with Gumroad always higher

The following examples assume a US buyer paying in US dollars and compare platform fees only. They exclude card processing, international charges, subscription charges, payout fees, taxes, refunds, and currency conversion.

USD transaction priceBuy Me a Coffee at 5%Gumroad direct at 10% + $0.50Gumroad costs more by
$5$0.25$1.00$0.75
$10$0.50$1.50$1.00
$25$1.25$3.00$1.75
$50$2.50$5.50$3.00
$100$5.00$10.50$5.50

On a $5 US-dollar transaction, Buy Me a Coffee’s platform fee is $0.25, while Gumroad’s direct-sale platform fee is $1.00. The dollar gap increases as the price rises because Gumroad combines a higher percentage with a fixed $0.50 charge.

Buy Me a Coffee can also apply an additional 1% to non-US transactions, 0.5% to subscription payments, and a 0.5% payout fee (official charges). Gumroad’s 30% Discover fee is substantially higher than its direct-sale rate, but it includes payment processing and applies only when Gumroad’s marketplace surfaces the sale (official pricing).

For more detail, read the Buy Me a Coffee fees explainer and did Gumroad raise its fees in 2026.

What do Buy Me a Coffee and Gumroad have in common?

Both platforms let creators start without a required monthly subscription. Both charge when a customer completes a transaction, and both support recurring offers through memberships or subscriptions. Neither official pricing page publishes a minimum audience size.

Their main difference is what supporters or buyers are paying for:

  • Buy Me a Coffee emphasizes low-friction support, memberships, and simple listings.
  • Gumroad emphasizes selling and automatically delivering repeatable digital products.
  • Neither is purpose-built for selling a creator’s time and attention through an individual paid request.

A creator can use the two platforms together because their functions are complementary rather than exclusive. For a closer look at the third category, see digital products vs. personalized custom work.

Where do Tips, paid questions, Personalized Videos, and small commissions fit?

Neither Buy Me a Coffee nor Gumroad is mainly for getting paid to answer a private question, record a personal greeting, or complete one small custom request. Buy Me a Coffee lets someone provide support or purchase a listed item, while Gumroad generally delivers a product prepared before the sale. Neither is built for a follower to pay you to “answer my question,” “make a custom video,” or “do this small task for me.” Paid Questions let a follower pay upfront to ask one private question, and you send one written reply on your own time — no live call or scheduling.

Brillay puts Paid Questions, Personalized Videos, Custom Work, Tips, and Goals on one creator link. With Tips, you choose simple suggested amounts, and supporters pay as guests without creating an account. You can start with any audience size; creators can receive payouts in 41 countries. No monthly fee, you only pay a small platform fee when you get paid. 8% platform fee when a follower pays for work, 5% platform fee on tips and goals. Card processing is separate. As noted above, those Brillay figures are first-party platform facts, not independently audited. (how it works) (pricing)

Use it alongside either platform when followers want to tip you, pay for one private answer, request a personal greeting, or commission one small piece of work. See Brillay vs. Buy Me a Coffee and Brillay vs. Gumroad for direct comparisons.

Frequently asked questions

Is Buy Me a Coffee or Gumroad cheaper?

Buy Me a Coffee has the lower platform fee at every equal direct-sale price: it charges 5%, while Gumroad charges 10% + $0.50. For a $5 transaction in US dollars, excluding processing and other charges, Buy Me a Coffee’s platform fee is $0.25 and Gumroad’s is $1.00.

Actual net revenue also depends on payment processing, customer location, currency, subscriptions, and payout charges. Stripe’s approximately 2.9% + $0.30 rate is specifically its standard US online-card rate, not a worldwide assumption.

What is the main difference between Buy Me a Coffee and Gumroad?

Buy Me a Coffee is primarily a support platform with memberships and simple shop listings. Gumroad is primarily a digital-product platform that sells and delivers items such as e-books, courses, presets, and templates. Buy Me a Coffee suits support-oriented transactions; Gumroad suits products that can be sold repeatedly. If you are weighing support-first platforms, our Patreon, Ko-fi, and Buy Me a Coffee comparison breaks down fees, payouts, and fit.

Do Buy Me a Coffee or Gumroad charge a monthly fee?

No required monthly fee is listed for either platform. Buy Me a Coffee charges 5% per transaction (official charges). Gumroad charges 10% + $0.50 per direct sale or 30% through Discover (official pricing). Additional processing or transaction-specific fees can apply.

Why would a supporter send a one-time Tip instead of subscribing?

A one-time Tip lets a supporter say thank you without joining a membership, and you owe nothing in return. With Tips on Brillay, supporters can send a one-time thank-you as guests, without creating an account.

What should I read next?

For comparisons across the broader creator market, see creator platform fees compared. To decide between repeatable files and individualized work, read digital products vs. personalized custom work. For paid-interaction comparisons, see Brillay vs. Buy Me a Coffee and Brillay vs. Gumroad.

Buy Me a Coffee and Gumroad remain the reference points for tips, memberships, and downloadable products; Brillay is a separate tool for one-time paid requests from followers—one private written reply or one small custom action—with no membership. If asking for support feels like begging, present Tips as an optional thank-you and choose simple suggested amounts such as $3, $5, or $10; supporters can still enjoy your free work whether or not they tip. Supporters can pay without an account, and unlike a Gumroad listing, nothing has to be finished and uploaded before the first request can arrive. (Create your free Brillay page)

Start getting paid for the questions and requests you already get

Create your free Brillay link. No monthly fee, you only pay a small platform fee when you get paid. 8% platform fee when a follower pays for work, 5% platform fee on tips and goals. Card processing is separate.

Create your free Brillay link