Platforms change pricing and features — verify on the provider’s official pages.
Choose Buy Me a Coffee if your priority is simple one-time support, recurring memberships, or a shop for pre-made products. Choose FanBell if fans ask for personalized replies, shoutouts, or small services and you want those paid interactions, tips, project support, and brand inquiries organized on one creator link.
Pricing and features can change. The figures below were checked against each company’s own pages; confirm current numbers on their official sites before deciding.
Both platforms cost $0 per month and take a cut only when a fan pays: 5% per transaction on Buy Me a Coffee (Buy Me a Coffee: how to calculate charges, updated March 18, 2026) and 12% on FanBell (FanBell pricing). The difference that matters is what each is designed to sell — a support-and-store model versus a paid-fan-interaction model.
How do FanBell and Buy Me a Coffee compare at a glance?
Buy Me a Coffee charges a 5% platform fee and sells one-time support, memberships, and pre-made products (how charges are calculated). FanBell charges a 12% platform fee and sells paid interactions — private questions, shoutouts, and small services — plus tips and project support.
| Feature | FanBell | Buy Me a Coffee |
|---|---|---|
| Core model | Paid fan interactions on one link: private Q&A, video shoutouts, small custom services, tips, project support, and brand inquiries | Support payments, recurring memberships, and a shop for pre-made digital or physical items |
| Platform fee | 12%, charged only when a fan pays | 5% per transaction; Buy Me a Coffee says creators keep 95% of each payment |
| Payment processing | Stripe; the typical US card rate is approximately 2.9% + $0.30, separate from the platform fee | Stripe; the typical US card rate is approximately 2.9% + $0.30, separate from the platform fee. Its documentation also lists a 0.5% payout-processing fee, +1% on non-US transactions, and +0.5% on subscription payments (how charges are calculated) |
| Monthly cost | Free to start with no monthly fee. A “Pro” tier with a lower ~8% fee is announced as coming soon but is not yet available | Free to join, with a 5% per-payment fee and no separate monthly charge (FAQ) |
| Reply or delivery required | Paid Private Questions, Personalized Shoutouts, and Creator Services require the creator to deliver the promised reply, video, or service; tips and project support require no reply (how it works) | Support, memberships, and shop purchases are not structured around a personalized reply for each payment |
| Recurring membership option | No; FanBell offers are one-time and on-demand rather than monthly subscriptions | Yes; unlimited monthly or yearly membership tiers, plus exactly one lifetime membership level per account (what Buy Me a Coffee is, updated March 18, 2026) |
| Shop or pre-made products | Not offered; FanBell is not a storefront for files or physical goods made once and sold repeatedly | Yes; unlimited digital or physical product listings with no setup or listing fees and the same 5% fee taken at payout (shop guide) |
| Payouts | Stripe Connect sends payouts to the creator’s bank, and Stripe onboarding is required to receive money | A $10 outstanding balance unlocks a payout request, approved payouts transfer to Stripe every Wednesday, and bank arrival takes 3–5 business days (when are payouts processed) |
| Supporter account required | No; fans check out as guests by card through Stripe, with no FanBell account and no app | No; Buy Me a Coffee states one-time support uses a one-tap checkout with no account needed (what Buy Me a Coffee is) |
| Payout country coverage | Stripe Connect onboarding is required, so coverage follows Stripe’s supported countries | Buy Me a Coffee states it is supported in 110+ countries, with payments processed through Stripe (what Buy Me a Coffee is) |
| Follower minimum | No follower minimum | The public overview reviewed does not state a follower threshold; this is a limitation of the available documentation, not a verified no-minimum claim |
| Social DMs | FanBell does not read or automatically charge inside TikTok or Instagram DMs; creators direct followers to their FanBell link | It operates as a standalone creator link rather than inside a social platform’s DM inbox |
Buy Me a Coffee’s help center states, “we only apply a 5% platform fee per transaction, which means you get to keep 95% of your earnings,” and confirms that Buy Me a Coffee charges no monthly fee.
Buy Me a Coffee’s help center lists four costs stacked on top of its 5% platform fee: Stripe’s 2.9% + $0.30 per successful transaction, a 0.5% payout-processing fee, an extra 1% on international (non-US) transactions, and an extra 0.5% on subscription payments (how charges are calculated).
Buy Me a Coffee’s help center article “How to eliminate the credit card fee from your earnings” documents a “Cover credit card fee” toggle in creator settings that shifts Stripe’s 2.9% + $0.30 card fee onto supporters instead of deducting it from creator earnings (how to eliminate the credit card fee).
Buy Me a Coffee requires a $10 outstanding balance before a creator can request a payout, transfers approved payouts to the creator’s Stripe account every Wednesday, and says bank arrival typically takes 3–5 business days while a first payout usually completes in 7–14 days after account review.
Buy Me a Coffee’s dormancy policy (article updated June 17, 2026) treats a creator account with no login activity for 18 consecutive months as inactive, and begins weekly email reminders after 12 consecutive months without a login.
Buy Me a Coffee pays creators out in USD no matter which currency a supporter pays in, and its localized-pricing feature requires a connected Stripe Express account with USD as the base currency.
Buy Me a Coffee states that over 1 million creators use the platform, that it is supported in 110+ countries with payments processed through Stripe, and that setting up a page takes less than 5 minutes.
Buy Me a Coffee’s default one-time support price is $5 per “coffee,” supporters can enter a custom higher amount, and one-time support uses a one-tap checkout with no supporter account required.
Buy Me a Coffee lets a creator publish unlimited membership tiers billed monthly or yearly but exactly one lifetime membership level per account, and unlimited shop listings with no setup or listing fees.
Buy Me a Coffee’s own product overview describes the platform as one-time support, memberships, and a shop for digital or physical products, and states no follower threshold anywhere in that overview, so this comparison does not treat the absence of one as a separately verified policy.
Stripe’s published pricing lists a standard US online card rate of 2.9% + $0.30 per successful transaction (Stripe pricing), and Stripe’s payout documentation states that an initial payout typically completes within 7–14 days (Stripe: payouts).
FanBell’s pricing page sets the platform fee at 12%, charged only when a fan pays, on a page that costs $0 per month, and states that the announced “Pro” tier at a lower 8% platform fee is not available yet because every creator is on the Free plan during the beta.
FanBell’s pricing page also states that brand collaboration inquiries carry no fee and that a connected Stripe account is required before any paid widget can accept money.
On a $50 payment, FanBell’s 12% platform fee plus Stripe’s 2.9% + $0.30 charge take about $7.75 and leave roughly $42.25, while Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% platform fee plus its 0.5% payout fee and the same Stripe charge take about $4.50 and leave roughly $45.50 — a gap of about $3.25 per $50 (FanBell pricing; Buy Me a Coffee fee calculation; Stripe pricing;). These are illustrative estimates from each platform’s published rates — actual take-home varies by card type, country, and whether a payment is one-time support, a membership, or a shop purchase.
Who is FanBell best for?
FanBell fits creators whose fans already ask for personalized work — a question answered, a birthday video, a portfolio review. It puts six paid formats on one link at a single 12% platform fee, charged only when a fan pays, with $0 monthly cost and no follower minimum.
The six formats are paid private questions, personalized shoutouts, creator services, tips, project support, and brand collaboration inquiries, each priced and given a turnaround by the creator.
- Paid Private Questions — a fan pays to ask a question, and the creator replies by text in a private thread.
- Personalized Shoutouts — a fan requests a custom video, which the creator records and delivers.
- Creator Services — a small, defined deliverable, such as a review, mini audit, or piece of feedback, offered at a set price and turnaround.
- Tips — one-time financial support with no reply required.
- Project Support — fans contribute money toward a stated goal displayed with a funding progress bar; it is not product fulfillment or shipping.
- Brand Collaboration Inquiries — a “work with me” form that routes brand leads to a separate inbox.
All six formats sit on one FanBell page under the same 12% platform fee, which applies only when a fan pays, at $0 per month and with no follower minimum.
FanBell fans pay the full price upfront and check out as guests by card through Stripe, with no FanBell account to create and no app to install.
FanBell states that creators can decline and refund any request they do not want to fulfill, so a paid question or shoutout is never an obligation to deliver. See paid fan interaction for more on that model.
FanBell delivery is asynchronous: the creator answers by text or delivers a recording or file on their own time, within the turnaround they set, and there are no live calls or appointments to schedule.
FanBell is a weaker fit if your main goal is a recurring membership or a product shop: FanBell’s offers are one-time and on-demand, with no subscription tier and no storefront for pre-made files or merchandise.
Who is Buy Me a Coffee best for?
Buy Me a Coffee fits creators who want one-click support at a 5% platform fee and may add memberships or a product shop later. Its three building blocks are one-time support at a $5 default coffee price, unlimited monthly or yearly membership tiers, and a shop for digital or physical goods (what Buy Me a Coffee is).
Buy Me a Coffee’s shop allows unlimited product listings with no setup or listing fees, and the 5% platform fee is deducted at payout only when a sale happens. If you're weighing Buy Me a Coffee specifically against another tip-jar-style platform rather than against FanBell's paid-interaction model, see our side-by-side of Ko-fi and Buy Me a Coffee.
None of those three Buy Me a Coffee products is structured around delivering a personalized response to each paying fan: a supporter sends a $5-default coffee, joins a membership tier, or buys a listed shop item.
Buy Me a Coffee is likely the better fit when:
- Fans want to thank you, not ask you for something. Buy Me a Coffee’s one-tap checkout defaults to a $5 coffee and requires no supporter account.
- You publish enough to justify a subscription. Buy Me a Coffee supports unlimited monthly or yearly tiers plus one lifetime level per account.
- You have pre-made products to sell. Buy Me a Coffee’s shop takes unlimited digital or physical listings with no setup or listing fees.
- You want the lower headline fee. Buy Me a Coffee charges 5% per transaction versus FanBell’s 12% (Buy Me a Coffee: how to calculate charges; FanBell pricing).
Buy Me a Coffee is a weaker fit when fans regularly request personalized work, because its public product overview lists only one-time support, memberships, a shop, posts, gallery, and messages — no purpose-built paid-question, shoutout, or paid-service format.
What do FanBell and Buy Me a Coffee have in common?
Both platforms are free to open, take money only when a fan pays, and settle earnings to a bank account through Stripe. Buy Me a Coffee charges 5% per transaction with no monthly fee (how charges are calculated); FanBell charges 12% at $0 per month.
The structural similarities are worth listing precisely:
- Both cost $0 per month. FanBell’s pricing page lists $0/month with a 12% platform fee, and Buy Me a Coffee states it “doesn’t charge you a monthly fee” and applies 5% per transaction.
- Both charge only on a paid transaction. Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% is deducted at payout when a sale happens, and FanBell’s 12% applies only when a fan pays.
- Both use Stripe for payments and bank payouts. Stripe’s documentation states that funds in a connected account are paid out on a daily rolling basis by default, and Stripe’s standard US online card rate of 2.9% + $0.30 sits outside either platform’s headline fee.
- Both let a fan pay without creating an account. Buy Me a Coffee states one-time support uses a one-tap checkout with no account needed (what Buy Me a Coffee is), and FanBell fans check out as guests by card through Stripe with no FanBell account and no app.
- FanBell explicitly has no follower minimum. Buy Me a Coffee’s public overview reviewed in August 2026 does not state a follower threshold, but that absence should not be treated as a separately verified policy.
- Both provide a standalone creator link. Neither operates by reading or automatically charging followers inside a social platform’s DM inbox.
The practical gap is what each platform is designed to sell: Buy Me a Coffee sells support at a $5 default coffee, memberships, and pre-made products at 5%, while FanBell sells six paid-interaction formats at 12%.
Creators can also use both. For example, a creator could maintain a Buy Me a Coffee shop for finished products and recurring support while using FanBell for one-off paid questions, shoutouts, and custom services. For a broader look at how Buy Me a Coffee stacks up against other tip-and-membership tools, see our three-way comparison of Patreon, Ko-fi, and Buy Me a Coffee.
Frequently asked questions
What is the main difference between FanBell and Buy Me a Coffee?
Buy Me a Coffee is built around one-time support at a $5 default coffee price, recurring memberships, and a product shop, at a 5% platform fee (what Buy Me a Coffee is). FanBell is built around paid fan interaction — private questions, personalized shoutouts, and small creator services, alongside tips, project support, and brand inquiries — at a 12% platform fee.
Choose on what fans are paying for: general support or pre-made products favor Buy Me a Coffee at 5%, while personalized access or custom work favors FanBell at 12% with a required reply or deliverable.
Is FanBell or Buy Me a Coffee cheaper?
Buy Me a Coffee has the lower headline platform fee: 5% per transaction, compared with FanBell’s 12% fee. Buy Me a Coffee’s documentation also lists a 0.5% payout-processing fee, +1% on non-US transactions, and +0.5% on subscription payments (how charges are calculated).
On a $50 payment, published rates leave roughly $45.50 on Buy Me a Coffee (5% platform fee, 0.5% payout fee, Stripe’s 2.9% + $0.30) versus roughly $42.25 on FanBell (12% platform fee plus the same Stripe charge) — about a $3.25 difference per $50 (Buy Me a Coffee fee calculation; FanBell pricing; Stripe pricing;). Fee percentage favors Buy Me a Coffee, while product fit depends on whether you are selling support and products or personalized interactions.
Can I use FanBell and Buy Me a Coffee at the same time?
Yes. A creator can use Buy Me a Coffee for memberships, general support, and pre-made products while using FanBell for paid questions, shoutouts, or small services. Neither model requires exclusivity, and both cost $0 per month: Buy Me a Coffee charges no monthly fee (how charges are calculated) and FanBell charges $0 per month plus 12% only when a fan pays.
Which should I choose for a recurring membership or shop?
Choose Buy Me a Coffee. It supports unlimited monthly or yearly membership tiers, exactly one lifetime membership level per account, and unlimited shop listings with no setup or listing fees. FanBell’s offers are one-time and on-demand with no subscription tier, so it is not the closer fit for a membership or a product store.
How can you get started with FanBell?
Creating a FanBell page costs $0 per month, requires no follower minimum, and charges a 12% platform fee only when a fan pays. Connect Stripe, set a price and turnaround for each offer, and fans pay upfront as guests before you deliver.
If general support, memberships, or pre-made products are your priority, Buy Me a Coffee at 5% remains the more suitable option. If fans already ask you for specific personalized work — a question answered, a shoutout recorded, or a small custom service — FanBell is designed to turn those requests into paid offers.
Set up your free FanBell link and turn on whichever offers match what fans already ask you for. It's free to start, and the 12% fee only applies when a fan actually pays.