Most creator services should include zero or one revision, with a revision defined as one round of corrections to a mismatch with the original brief. Fiverr lets sellers set any revision count between zero and 20, or unlimited, on a custom offer, so a low, explicit number is a standard marketplace setting rather than a poor service level.
For related listing decisions, see how to write a creator service offer and the full list of things creators can sell.
How were these revision defaults determined?
The 0, 1, and 1โ2 defaults below are FanBell editorial recommendations calibrated against the published revision settings of three marketplaces that sell comparable per-order creative work: Fiverr, 99designs, and Cameo. Each default is anchored to a specific policy those platforms publish, not to survey data or measured conversion results.
The method has three steps. First, check what revision counts the marketplace actually permits: Fiverr's Help Center states that on a custom offer "you can set the number of revisions between zero and 20, or choose Unlimited," on orders priced from $5 to $20,000 with delivery windows of 1 to 90 days (Fiverr Help Center, "Creating and managing custom offers"). Second, check what the platform makes mandatory: Fiverr's Help Center states that each Gig package must carry a delivery time in days, a revision count, and a price, and that "Fiverr requires you to offer at least one revision option per package" (Fiverr Help Center, "Creating a Gig"). Third, check how extra rounds are priced: Fiverr's Help Center describes extra revisions as a paid Gig extra that "helps set clear expectations and limits on how many revisions you provide".
Two limits on this methodology are worth stating plainly. These figures are policy-anchored editorial defaults rather than measured benchmarks, and no marketplace publishes the distribution of revision counts its sellers actually choose.
Why should you set the revision limit before publishing?
Set the limit before publishing because the marketplaces that formalize revisions treat the number as a purchase term, not an after-the-fact negotiation. Fiverr's Help Center states that "the number of revisions a client can request depends on what's included in your Gig package or agreed-upon order scope," which places the count in the listing rather than in the post-delivery conversation.
A stated limit serves three purposes:
- It protects the creator's time. Fiverr's Help Center advises sellers to "communicate promptly if any revision falls outside the original scope," which is only possible when a scope and a count were published in advance.
- It gives the fan a specific expectation. "One revision for a mismatch with your original request" is clearer than "revisions available."
- It separates corrections from additional work. Fiverr's Help Center notes that a shared draft "is not considered a revision," a distinction that only holds when the revision itself is defined.
Fiverr's Help Center also recommends adding up to 10 FAQs to a Gig and lists "delivery time, revision limits, what's included in each package" as the topics worth covering, which is a direct endorsement of publishing the limit before purchase. Use how to scope a custom creator request to define those boundaries.
How many revisions should each service type include?
Include 0 revisions on assessment-style services, 1 on a custom asset built to a written specification, and 1โ2 on a higher-priced multi-part deliverable with the extra round priced in. Each default in the table is matched to a published marketplace policy so the number is defensible rather than arbitrary.
| Service type | FanBell default | Marketplace precedent | Why this default |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quick feedback or mini audit, such as short written notes or a rated checklist | 0 | Fiverr permits a revision count of zero on a custom offer, per Fiverr Help Center, "Creating and managing custom offers" | The purchased output is an assessment, so there is little production work to redo |
| Written review or critique, such as longer notes on a draft, portfolio, or profile | 0โ1 | 99designs tells clients that "designers typically provide minor revisions for free" and that designers "aren't obligated to make any changes," per 99designs Help Center | A point missed from the submitted brief is an error; a changed professional opinion is not |
| Custom asset or creative deliverable, such as a graphic, edit, or written piece built to specification | 1 | Fiverr requires at least one revision option per Gig package, per Fiverr Help Center, "Creating a Gig" | One correction round is the smallest count that still resolves an honest mismatch with the specification |
| Higher-priced, multi-part deliverable | 1โ2, with the extra round priced in | Fiverr sells extra revisions as a paid Gig extra with its own price, per Fiverr Help Center, "Managing Gig extras" | More components create more chances of a mismatch, and additional rounds reserve more creator time |
| Personalized video or other one-take performance | 0 | Cameo's Terms of Service state that "you may not return or exchange a CAMEO Video and no refunds will be issued," per Cameo Terms of Service | A recorded performance has no correction round; only objective delivery failures should be re-sent |
Start at the lower end unless your own completed orders show that another correction round is routinely necessary. Raising the number is a pricing decision as much as a service decision, because 99designs' own guidance to clients is that designers "charge a reasonable price for more involved revisions".
What policy wording can each service type use?
A revision policy should name the numeric limit, define what qualifies, and explain what happens when the fan asks for something new. Each template below matches one row of the table above, so the wording and the published count stay consistent from the listing through to the delivery message.
What can a mini-audit policy say?
Includes 0 revisions. This service provides my assessment of the submitted material. I will correct an objective delivery problem, such as reviewing the wrong document, but a different assessment or additional material requires a new order.
What can a critique policy say?
Includes 0โ1 revisions. A revision covers a point from your original brief that I missed. It does not include reviewing a new draft, expanding the critique to new material, or changing my professional opinion.
What can a custom-asset policy say?
Includes 1 revision. The revision may correct one round of mismatches with the specifications in your original request. New concepts, changed style preferences, additional versions, and added elements require a new order.
What can a multi-part deliverable policy say?
Includes 1โ2 revisions as stated in this offer. Revisions correct mismatches between the delivered components and your original brief. New components, replacement concepts, and changes to previously approved requirements are additional work.
Adapt each template to the actual deliverable rather than promising a vague right to changes until the fan is satisfied.
What counts as a revision, and what counts as new work?
A request counts as a revision when the delivery fails to match the brief the fan already submitted, and counts as new work when the fan now wants something different. Fiverr draws the same line, instructing sellers to flag "any revision that falls outside the original scope" rather than absorb it silently.
| Requested change | Classification | Example |
|---|---|---|
| Fixes a failure to follow the agreed brief | Revision | Correcting a name, format, specification, or requested element that the creator missed |
| Fixes an objective delivery problem | Correction | Replacing a wrong file, broken link, or corrupted export |
| Adds something not included in the brief | New work | Asking the creator to cover another topic or produce an additional component |
| Changes an unspecified preference | New work | Requesting a different tone or style that was not stated before production |
| Requests another option | New work | Asking for a second version when the offer promised one deliverable |
What should count as a revision?
A requested change should count as a revision when it corrects a mismatch with the agreed brief, including when:
- The creator missed a detail clearly stated in the original request.
- The deliverable contains a factual or technical error, such as a wrong name, wrong file, broken link, or corrupted export.
- The delivery does not match the format or scope promised in the listing.
A creator's failure to follow the agreed request should be corrected rather than reclassified as paid additional scope. That boundary matches 99designs' description of a minor revision as something as small as "a colour or size change," which designers typically absorb for free.
What should count as a new request?
A change should be treated as new work when it adds to or replaces the original request, including:
- "Can you also cover X?" when X was not part of the brief.
- "Can you make it more [tone/style]?" when that preference was not specified originally.
- "I want a second option to choose from" when the listing promised one deliverable.
A concise response can enforce the boundary without creating an argument:
"That's outside what was in the original request, so it would be a new order rather than a revision. I'm happy to take a follow-up order if you'd like a second pass."
The listing can state the same distinction before purchase:
Revisions cover mismatches with your original request, not new additions, changed preferences, or alternative versions.
How long should a fan have to request a revision?
Give fans a window measured in days, not an open-ended right to reopen a finished order. Established marketplaces close the revision window between 3 and 14 days after delivery, and every one of them completes the order automatically when the buyer takes no action, which is the pattern a creator's own policy should copy.
| Marketplace and order type | Buyer window to request changes | Primary source |
|---|---|---|
| Fiverr standard order | 3 days after delivery to accept, request revisions, or extend the review period, which the buyer can extend by up to 5 days | Fiverr Help Center, "Managing your orders" |
| Fiverr Gig that requires shipping | 14 days before the order auto-completes | Fiverr Help Center, "Managing your orders" |
| Fiverr milestone order | 8 days from delivery to request a revision or accept the milestone | Fiverr Help Center, "Working with Milestones" |
| Upwork fixed-price milestone | 14 days to approve the work or request changes, with the review period resetting when the freelancer resubmits | Upwork Help Center, "How payments for milestones and fixed-price contracts work" |
Upwork's Help Center states that if a client takes no action within 14 days on a fixed-price milestone, "funds are automatically released" to the freelancer, so the deadline protects payment as well as scope. A 3-to-7 day revision window written into your own offer description mirrors the shortest of these marketplace standards.
What should you do when the included revisions run out?
Do not automatically provide another unpaid round after the stated limit has been used. Compare the request with the original brief and pick one of four responses: correct an outstanding mismatch, sell a follow-up order, discuss a refund, or decline. Fiverr routes unresolved cases the same way, through its Resolution Center rather than through endless free rework.
- The delivery still does not match the original brief. Correct the outstanding mismatch.
- The fan is requesting new scope or expressing a changed preference. Offer a paid follow-up order, the approach Fiverr formalizes by selling extra revisions as a priced Gig extra.
- The original request should not have been accepted as scoped. Discuss an appropriate refund instead of continuing indefinite rework.
- The delivery matches the brief, but the fan remains dissatisfied. Consider whether a decline-and-refund conversation is fairer than providing additional revisions.
For guidance on full and partial refunds, see how to handle refunds for creator services.
Where should the revision policy appear?
Put the revision limit in the offer description that fans read before paying, next to the price and turnaround you set. FanBell lets creators set their own price and turnaround on each offer, and fans pay upfront before the work begins, so the description is the last place a limit can be disclosed in time to be binding (how it works).
Set the limit when publishing a Creator Services listing. Repeat the definition in the description so fans understand what the number means:
Includes one revision to correct a mismatch with your original request. New additions, changed preferences, and alternative versions require a new order.
Displaying both the number and its definition gives each fan the same information before purchase, which is the same disclosure pattern Fiverr enforces by requiring a revision count on every Gig package.
Frequently asked questions
Should revisions be free, or should extra rounds cost more?
A correction should be free when it fixes the creator's failure to follow the original brief, and paid once the stated limit is used. 99designs tells clients that designers "typically provide minor revisions for free and will be happy to do more detailed revisions for a reasonable price". See how to write a creator service offer for placing the limit alongside price and turnaround.
What if a fan asks for one more small change?
Compare the requested change with the original brief. If the delivery already matches the brief, explain that the included revision has been used and offer a new paid order. If an agreed requirement remains uncorrected, fix that mismatch rather than treating it as optional extra work.
Does every Creator Services listing need a revision policy?
Yes, including a stated "0 revisions" for simple services. Fiverr makes the equivalent mandatory, requiring a revision count on every Gig package alongside delivery time and price. A zero-revision policy can still promise to correct objective delivery problems such as a wrong document or a broken file.
Is one revision enough for a higher-priced service?
One revision is enough for most single-deliverable services, and 1โ2 suits higher-priced multi-part work when the price accounts for the extra round. Fiverr treats additional revisions as a chargeable Gig extra with its own price precisely because they reserve more seller time.
Can a service legitimately include zero revisions?
Yes. Fiverr permits a revision count of zero on custom offers, and Cameo's Terms of Service go further for personalized video, stating that "you may not return or exchange a CAMEO Video and no refunds will be issued".
FanBell is free to start with an 8% platform fee per paid transaction and $0 per month (pricing). Create your free FanBell page and set your revision count as part of your Creator Services offer.
Keep reading
Ready to get paid for the interactions you already get?
Create your free FanBell link