Get paid for the questions and custom requests you already get from followers.

Create your free Brillay link

Compare

Best Buy Me a Coffee Alternatives for Creators in 2026

Looking for a Buy Me a Coffee alternative? A fair, fact-checked comparison of Ko-fi, Patreon, Substack, Gumroad, Beacons, and Brillay — fees, follower minimums, and which fits a creator who wants more than a one-click tip jar.

Updated September 2026

Get paid for this — with Brillay

A follower wants advice on their own situation — do you ask for seven $5 coffees, or point them to a Paid Question at your price, answered in writing within the window you set?

Brillay is a link in your bio where followers pay you directly for:

Paid QuestionsPersonalized VideosCustom WorkGoalsTips

Keep the coffee button for thank-yous; for the video or commission a follower actually wants, Brillay takes it as one priced order they pay as a guest, and once you deliver, nothing is owed next month.

No monthly fee, you only pay a small platform fee when you get paid.

Platforms change pricing and features — verify on the provider’s official pages.

The best Buy Me a Coffee alternative depends on the job: Ko-fi is the closest match and lowest-fee option for tips; Patreon suits memberships, Substack newsletters, Gumroad digital products, Beacons link-in-bio commerce, and Brillay paid questions, Personalized Videos, and small requests. For most creators seeking a direct replacement, Ko-fi is the best starting point.

Platforms change pricing and features, so confirm current numbers on each provider’s official pages before deciding. Brillay’s current terms are on its pricing page.

How does Buy Me a Coffee’s $5-coffee model work?

Creators set a coffee price of $3, $5 (the default), or $10. A supporter can buy one coffee, several at once, or enter a custom amount above it, according to Buy Me a Coffee’s coffee-price help article. A fixed coffee price is the right shape when the thank-you is the whole ask and there is nothing to scope or deliver afterward. It stops fitting the moment followers want something specific from you — a written answer on their own file, a video for one person, a commission — because each of those costs a different amount of work and should carry its own price, scope and delivery window rather than a multiple of $5.

Buy Me a Coffee also offers Memberships for recurring monthly support and a Shop for pre-made digital or physical products, as described in its Help Center overview.

Every payment carries Buy Me a Coffee’s flat 5% platform fee. Stripe’s standard processing of 2.9% + $0.30 also applies, along with a 0.5% payout-processing fee, +1% on international payments, and +0.5% on subscription payments, according to Buy Me a Coffee’s charge-calculation article.

Unlike Ko-fi’s 0–5% structure, Buy Me a Coffee does not offer a free plan that reduces its platform fee to zero: its 5% fee applies to every coffee, while Ko-fi charges 0% on tips and 5% on shop, membership, and commission payments under its Free plan (Ko-fi fee explainer).

When does a fixed-price coffee stop fitting the request?

A coffee button works when supporters simply want to say thank you, but it does not solve the awkward question of what they are paying for when they ask for advice or custom work. It becomes less precise when a supporter wants to pay for a defined outcome, such as a private answer, personalized video, or small custom service with an expected delivery time.

Buy Me a Coffee’s official overview organizes its product around Support, Memberships, and a Shop; it does not document a separate paid-question or personalized-shoutout offer type in that overview (Help Center overview). Creators may still arrange custom work independently, but the documented Membership and Shop blocks are designed for recurring support and listed products rather than Brillay’s trackable one-off requests, where a creator publishes what they will do, the price, and the delivery window, then makes the requested deliverable after it is ordered instead of producing a catalogue first.

How do Buy Me a Coffee and six alternatives compare?

Buy Me a Coffee charges a flat 5% platform fee on every payment, while the six alternatives below range from Ko-fi's 0% tip fee to Gumroad's 30% Discover-marketplace fee, each drawn from that platform's own pricing or help page. The table lists monthly cost, platform fee, stated follower minimum, and payout method for each.

ToolBest forMonthly costPlatform feeFollower minimum shown on reviewed pagesPayouts
Buy Me a CoffeeSimple one-click support, plus a shop and membership tiersFree, $0/mo5% flat, plus Stripe processing of 2.9% + $0.30, +0.5% payout processing, +1% international, and +0.5% on subscriptionsNot stated on the FAQ or pricing/help pages reviewedStripe to the creator’s bank
BrillayStructured paid Q&A, Personalized Videos, and small services, alongside tipsFree, $0/mo8% when a follower pays for work; 5% on tips and goalsNoneStripe Connect, direct to bank (how it works)
Ko-fiA lower-fee tip jar with an optional shop and membershipsFree, $0/mo; Gold $12/mo0% on tips; 5% on shop, membership, and commission sales on Free; 0% on everything on GoldNot stated on the pricing or fee pages reviewedCreator’s connected PayPal or Stripe account
PatreonRecurring membership tiers with built-in community tools$0/month, no monthly fee10% of earnings on the standard plan for pages published after Aug. 4, 2025; legacy pages may be on 5%, 8%, or 11%Not stated on the pricing or creator-fee pages reviewedIn-platform to bank or PayPal; payment processing applies on top
SubstackPaid newsletter subscriptionsFree to start, $0/mo; fees begin when paid subscriptions are enabled10% of subscription revenue, plus Stripe processing of approximately 2.9% + $0.30 and a 0.7% recurring-billing feeNot stated on the cost page reviewedStripe to the creator’s bank
GumroadSelling a digital product or course repeatedlyFree, $0/mo10% + $0.50 per direct transaction through your own link; 30% through Gumroad DiscoverNot stated on the pricing page reviewedDirect deposit or PayPal, varying by country
BeaconsA storefront, media kit, link-in-bio, and paid requestsFree plan through $90/mo across four tiers9% on Free and Creator ($10/mo); 0% on Creator Plus ($30/mo) and Creator Max ($90/mo)Not stated on the plans page reviewedCreator’s connected PayPal or Stripe account

The follower-minimum column reports only what the cited official pages stated; “not stated” is not the same as a guarantee of eligibility in every country or account situation.

Sources: Buy Me a Coffee’s charge-calculation article, FAQ, and coffee-price help article; Ko-fi’s pricing page and fee explainer; Patreon’s pricing page and creator-fees overview; Substack’s cost explainer, which states a 10% platform fee plus a 0.7% recurring-billing fee as of July 2024; Gumroad’s pricing page; and Beacons’ pricing page. Brillay’s figures come from Brillay’s pricing page and how-it-works page.

Where does Brillay fit if you want more than a tip button?

People keep asking for advice in your DMs, and it is starting to feel like free work. Paid Questions let a follower pay upfront to ask one private question, and you send one written reply on your own time — no live call or scheduling. Brillay lets you set a fixed price for Paid Questions, Personalized Videos, or Custom Work, with what the follower gets and the scope clear before you start. With one Brillay link, you can offer Paid Questions, Personalized Videos, Custom Work, Tips, and Goals.

Followers pay upfront; you can decline a request. There is no follower minimum and no application to clear, and a follower can pay as a guest without making an account. No monthly fee, you only pay a small platform fee when you get paid. 8% platform fee when a follower pays for work, 5% platform fee on tips and goals. Card processing is separate. Creators in 41 countries can get paid; followers pay by card from anywhere. Connect your bank through Stripe, then receive your earnings there.

Brillay’s 8% fee when a follower pays for work is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% platform fee, and Ko-fi goes lower on tips, with its 0% fee on tips and 5% Free-plan fee on shop, membership, and commission payments.

Brillay is consequently a narrower fit, not a universal replacement. Creators focused mainly on newsletters, recurring communities, digital-product marketplaces, or link-in-bio tools will find those functions more directly represented by Substack, Patreon, Gumroad, or Beacons. Before choosing, check that Brillay supports your payout country and that connecting your bank through Stripe fits how you work.

See Paid Questions and Personalized Videos for the interaction formats, or read the full Brillay vs. Buy Me a Coffee comparison.

How does each alternative cover a different creator need?

Ko-fi replaces the coffee button itself, Patreon and Substack replace recurring support, Gumroad replaces product sales, Beacons replaces the link-in-bio page, and Brillay replaces one-off priced requests — each documented on its own official pricing or help page, detailed platform by platform below.

Ko-fi: closest match and lowest-fee tips

Ko-fi is the closest direct alternative because it retains the tip-shop-membership structure. Ko-fi charges 0% on tips, while Buy Me a Coffee charges 5% on every coffee (Ko-fi fee explainer; Buy Me a Coffee charge calculation).

Ko-fi’s Free plan charges 5% on shop, membership, and commission sales, while its $12/mo Gold plan reduces those platform fees to 0%. Ko-fi documents Commissions as its custom-work category; the reviewed pricing and fee pages do not show separate paid-Q&A or personalized-shoutout offer types.

A creator with more than $240 in combined monthly shop, membership, and commission sales pays more in Free-plan 5% fees than the $12/mo Gold subscription costs, making Gold the cheaper option above that break-even point (calculated from Ko-fi’s published Free and Gold fee structure, Ko-fi pricing).

Patreon: recurring memberships and community

Patreon is designed around recurring membership tiers and community tools. Its standard platform fee is 10% for creator pages published after Aug. 4, 2025, while legacy pages may remain on 5%, 8%, or 11% plans (Patreon creator-fees overview).

That standard 10% rate is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% platform fee, but Patreon’s product is centered on sustained membership and community rather than occasional coffee-sized support. On a $10 monthly pledge, Patreon’s standard 10% platform fee is $1.00, leaving $9.00 before payment processing.

Substack: paid newsletters

Substack is the clearest fit for creators whose primary paid product is a newsletter. Substack charges 10% of subscription revenue, plus Stripe processing of approximately 2.9% + $0.30 and a 0.7% recurring-billing fee.

Its 10% platform rate is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5%, but its publishing and subscription model is purpose-built for scheduled newsletter output rather than one-time tips. On a $10 monthly subscription, Substack’s fees total roughly $1.66 — a $1.00 platform cut, a $0.07 recurring-billing fee, and about $0.59 in Stripe processing — leaving close to $8.34.

Gumroad: repeatable digital-product sales

Gumroad is the strongest fit in this group for repeatedly selling a digital product or course. It charges 10% + $0.50 for a direct sale made through the creator’s own link and 30% for a sale through Gumroad Discover.

That direct-sale fee is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% platform fee, but Gumroad centers the buying flow on products rather than treating a shop as an addition to a tip page. On a $50 product sold through the creator’s own link, that 10% + $0.50 fee is $5.50, leaving $44.50 before payment processing (Gumroad pricing).

Beacons: link-in-bio commerce and paid requests

Beacons combines a storefront, media kit, link-in-bio page, and Requests block. It charges a 9% transaction fee on the Free and $10/mo Creator plans, while the $30/mo Creator Plus and $90/mo Creator Max plans reduce the transaction fee to 0% (Beacons plans).

Beacons’ 9% entry-tier fee is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5%. Because Creator Plus costs $30/mo more than the Free plan but removes the 9% transaction fee, a creator selling more than roughly $334 a month in store revenue breaks even, making Creator Plus the cheaper option above that volume (calculated from Beacons’ published plan and fee pricing, Beacons plans). Below that volume, the better result depends on monthly revenue, payment processing, and whether the creator needs Beacons’ broader link-in-bio toolset.

How much can an alternative save on a $5 payment?

Using Buy Me a Coffee’s published rates, a $5 coffee incurs a 5% platform fee of $0.25, approximately $0.445 in Stripe processing at 2.9% + $0.30, and a 0.5% payout-processing fee of $0.025. That leaves about $4.28 before international or subscription add-ons (Buy Me a Coffee charge calculation).

Ko-fi charges a 0% platform fee on the same $5 tip, so only the fees from the creator’s connected PayPal or Stripe account apply. The precise net amount depends on that processor and the creator’s country.

The comparison changes outside plain tips. Gumroad’s direct-sale fee is 10% + $0.50, while Patreon’s standard plan and Substack each use a 10% headline platform rate (Gumroad pricing, Patreon pricing, and Substack cost explainer). Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% headline rate is lower, although its payout, international, and subscription surcharges can also apply.

Which platform nets more depends on the transaction type, payment size, processor, and applicable surcharges—not just the headline percentage. See creator platform fees explained for a broader breakdown.

Frequently asked questions

What is the closest alternative to Buy Me a Coffee?

Ko-fi is the closest match because it offers the same general combination of tips, a shop, and memberships. It charges 0% on tips instead of Buy Me a Coffee’s flat 5% (Ko-fi fee explainer; Buy Me a Coffee charge calculation).

For creators who specifically want priced questions, Personalized Videos, or small services, Brillay is the more direct use-case match. See Brillay vs. Buy Me a Coffee.

Does Buy Me a Coffee take a bigger cut from memberships than one-time coffees?

Yes. The 5% platform fee applies to both, but subscription payments carry an additional 0.5%. International payments add another 1% regardless of payment type, according to Buy Me a Coffee’s charge-calculation article.

A one-time domestic coffee therefore has fewer listed surcharges than an otherwise equivalent membership or international payment.

Do I need a following to use these platforms?

Brillay sets no follower minimum and has nothing to apply for: the first follower who wants an answer is enough to take an order, and its terms are on the pricing page. For Buy Me a Coffee, Ko-fi, Patreon, Substack, Gumroad, and Beacons, no follower minimum was stated on the official pricing, fee, cost, or FAQ pages cited in this comparison.

That finding should not be read as a universal eligibility guarantee. Creators should still check each service’s current signup, country, payment, and account requirements.

How much should I charge when people keep coming to me with questions?

For a paid question, $20–$35 is a more realistic starting range for expert advice than a coffee-sized tip; adjust it for how specialized the answer is and how long it takes you.

Set one fixed price before the follower asks, so both of you know what the answer costs and you do not end up undercharging after doing the work.

What should you read next?

For a full head-to-head on Brillay specifically, see Brillay vs. Buy Me a Coffee.

If followers keep asking for a private answer, a personal shoutout, a commission, or other paid custom work, set a fixed price and say exactly what is included before you start; followers pay upfront, and you deliver later. Create your free Brillay page

Start getting paid for the questions and requests you already get

Create your free Brillay link. No monthly fee, you only pay a small platform fee when you get paid. 8% platform fee when a follower pays for work, 5% platform fee on tips and goals. Card processing is separate.

Create your free Brillay link