Get paid for the questions and custom requests you already get from followers.

Create your free Brillay link

Compare

Whop vs. Patreon: Which Is Right for Your Creator Business?

A fair, fact-checked comparison of Whop and Patreon — business model, fees, and which platform fits selling courses and communities versus running a recurring follower membership.

Updated August 2026

Get paid for this — with Brillay

Whop sells the course once it's built; Patreon pays once you're posting every month. And the follower who'd pay you today for one answer? On Brillay you publish the price and take that order before you've made a thing — then it's done.

Brillay is a link in your bio where followers pay you directly for:

Paid QuestionsCustom WorkPersonalized VideosTipsGoals

Whop ties every purchase to a buyer account, and Patreon's shop wants a login before checkout. On Brillay the follower who wants that one answer pays by card as a guest, with no follower account needed between deciding and paying.

No monthly fee, you only pay a small platform fee when you get paid.

Platforms change pricing and features — verify on the provider’s official pages.

Whop is usually better for selling defined digital products — courses, paid communities, software access — and charges 2.7% + $0.30 per domestic card transaction. Patreon is usually better for recurring follower memberships and charges new creators a 10% platform fee plus payment processing of 2.9% + $0.30 on payments above $3. A follower pays once for one question, one commission or one video, and nothing is owed afterwards — so the people who were never going to subscribe can still pay you, beside the Patreon you already run.

Checked against Whop’s official fee schedule and Patreon’s Creator fees overview. Pricing and features can change, so confirm current terms before deciding.

What’s the core difference between Whop and Patreon?

The core difference is what you sell: Whop fits courses, paid communities, and software access, while Patreon fits followers who pay regularly for your ongoing work. Whop prices each transaction (2.7% + $0.30 domestic), whereas Patreon takes a percentage of everything a page earns (10% standard) plus separate processing — different arithmetic at every price point.

Whop’s official fee schedule prices Whop purely as a payments and commerce layer, charging 2.7% + $0.30 per successful domestic card transaction, plus 1.5% for international cards and 1% when currency conversion applies. Whop says it supports 195 countries, 135+ currencies, and 100+ payment methods; check the linked documentation for current availability in your country.

Patreon’s Creator fees overview describes a two-part cost on membership earnings: a platform fee of between 5% and 12% of successfully processed sales depending on the creator’s plan, plus a separate payment-processing fee of, for USD payouts, 2.9% + $0.30 on credit-card or Apple Pay payments above $3. Patreon’s Creator fees overview also documents a distinct micropayment processing rate for tiers priced at $3 or less, so a $2 tier and a $10 tier are not processed at the same rate.

The practical distinction is buyer intent:

  • Choose Whop when the buyer wants a defined product or gated access, purchased once or billed repeatedly.
  • Choose Patreon when the follower wants an ongoing relationship with a creator, usually through recurring tiers connected to regular publishing and community benefits.

The models can overlap—Whop can bill recurring community access, and Patreon can support eligible one-time sales—but each platform’s central workflow favors a different creator business.

How do Whop and Patreon compare on features?

Both platforms support one-time sales and recurring billing, so the split is emphasis rather than capability. Whop’s documentation centres on storefront checkout, global payment methods, and payout flexibility; Patreon’s centres on membership tiers, published content, and a Shop for individual digital products.

CapabilityWhopPatreon
Pricing modes documentedFree access, one-time payments, and recurring subscriptionsRecurring membership tiers plus one-time purchases of digital goods, posts, and collections
Fee on one-time digital sales2.7% + $0.30 per domestic card transaction, with no separate platform percentage published (Whop fees)5% platform fee on digital products added to the Shop, plus payment processing (Patreon: Selling posts and collections FAQ)
Fee on recurring revenueSame 2.7% + $0.30 card rate applies to recurring charges (Whop fees)10% platform fee on standard-plan pages plus 2.9% + $0.30 processing above $3 (Patreon Creator fees overview)
Checkout reach100+ payment methods across 195 countries (Whop: accept payments)Card, Apple Pay, and PayPal/Venmo rates are published per payment method for USD payouts (Patreon Creator fees overview)
Payout optionsNext-day ACH $2.50, instant RTP 4% + $1.00, crypto or Venmo 5% + $1.00, wire $23.00 (Whop fees)$0.50 per USD bank payout, $0.25 + 1.55% for cross-currency, PayPal 1% (min $0.25, cap $20.00) (Patreon Creator fees overview)
Affiliate payoutsAffiliate processing fee of 1.25% per transaction (Whop fees)Not stated in the official Patreon pricing sources reviewed here

How do Whop and Patreon fees compare?

Both platforms are free to open with no monthly subscription. Whop charges 2.7% + $0.30 per domestic card sale and no separate platform percentage in its published fee schedule; Patreon charges new creators a 10% platform fee on top of payment processing of 2.9% + $0.30 for USD payments above $3, plus a per-payout fee.

PlatformCore modelMonthly costMain transaction or platform feePayout note
WhopDigital-product storefront for courses, paid communities, and software access (official pricing)Free to start; $0 per month (official pricing)2.7% + $0.30 per domestic transaction; add 1.5% for international cards and 1% when currency conversion applies (official fee schedule)Next-day ACH $2.50 per payout; instant bank deposit (RTP) 4% + $1.00; crypto or Venmo 5% + $1.00; bank wire $23.00 (official fee schedule)
PatreonCreator memberships with recurring tiers and community featuresFree to start; $0 per month (Pricing FAQ)10% of earnings for standard-plan pages published after August 4, 2025; eligible legacy pages may remain on 5%, 8%, or 11% plans (Creator fees overview)Processing is 2.9% + $0.30 for USD card payments above $3; payouts cost $0.50 per payout to a USD bank account, or $0.25 + 1.55% converting USD to a local currency (Creator fees overview)

Whop’s published fee schedule lists card processing at 2.7% + $0.30 per successful domestic transaction and does not state a separate platform-fee percentage on top of it. Patreon’s 10% standard platform fee applies to successfully processed sales and is charged before Patreon’s separate payment-processing and payout fees.

If you are worried about losing money to chargebacks or transfer fees, check these costs as well. Whop’s fee schedule charges a flat $15.00 per chargeback or dispute and $0.03 per 3D Secure authentication. Patreon’s Creator fees overview charges a PayPal payout fee of 1% of the amount transferred, with a $0.25 minimum and a $20.00 USD cap.

What would the fees look like on a $20 membership or $200 course?

On a $20 payment, Whop’s domestic-card fee is $0.84 and Patreon’s standard-plan platform fee plus card processing is $2.88 — an effective 4.2% versus 14.4%. On a $200 sale, Whop takes $5.70 (2.85%) and Patreon takes $26.10 (13.05%). Both figures exclude payout fees, international surcharges, taxes, and refunds.

The examples below apply Whop’s domestic-card rate of 2.7% + $0.30 and Patreon’s standard 10% platform fee plus USD credit-card processing of 2.9% + $0.30 for payments above $3. Both Patreon fees are calculated here on the gross payment amount, because Patreon documents the platform fee as a percentage of successfully processed sales and the processing fee as a percentage of the member’s payment. Payout fees, international-card surcharges, currency conversion, taxes, and refunds are excluded.

Example paymentWhop fee (2.7% + $0.30)Whop balance before payoutPatreon 10% platform feePatreon processing (2.9% + $0.30)Patreon balance before payout
$20 monthly membership$0.84$19.16$1.60$0.88$17.12
$200 course-style sale$5.70$194.30$20.00$6.10$173.90

On a domestic $20 card transaction, Whop’s published rate of 2.7% + $0.30 produces a fee of $0.84, leaving $19.16 before payout fees. On a $20 payment to a standard-plan Patreon page, the 10% platform fee is $2.00 and USD card processing of 2.9% + $0.30 adds $0.88, for $2.88 total and $17.12 before payout fees.

On a domestic $200 card transaction, Whop’s 2.7% + $0.30 rate produces a fee of $5.70, an effective rate of 2.85%. On a $200 sale through a standard-plan Patreon page, the 10% platform fee of $20.00 plus USD card processing of $6.10 totals $26.10, an effective rate of 13.05%.

Payout fees run the other way and narrow the gap slightly: Whop charges $2.50 per next-day ACH payout, while Patreon charges $0.50 per payout to a USD bank account (Whop fees; Patreon Creator fees overview).

The $200 example is a fee illustration rather than a claim that the platforms provide identical course-selling workflows.

Which is cheaper, Whop or Patreon?

At the published domestic-card rates used in these examples, Whop's fee is lower than Patreon's standard-plan fee on the same $20 or $200 payment. Whop charges 2.7% + $0.30 on a domestic card sale, while a standard-plan Patreon page pays a 10% platform fee plus 2.9% + $0.30 processing — roughly 13% to 14% of a typical USD payment versus roughly 3% to 4% on Whop, before payout fees.

Whop’s domestic-card charge is 2.7% + $0.30 per successful transaction with no separately published platform percentage. A standard-plan Patreon page pays 10% of successfully processed sales plus USD card processing of 2.9% + $0.30 above $3.

That does not make Whop universally cheaper. The final result depends on:

  • The transaction amount
  • Domestic versus international cards
  • Currency conversion
  • Payment-processing and payout fees
  • Whether the Patreon page has a legacy 5%, 8%, or 11% plan
  • Whether the platform’s sales model improves conversion or retention

Plan history matters more than most comparisons admit. Patreon documents a platform fee of between 5% and 12% of successfully processed sales depending on plan, with legacy pages potentially on 5%, 8%, or 11% and pages published after August 4, 2025 on the standard 10% (Patreon Creator fees overview; Patreon Pricing FAQ). A Founders-plan creator keeps a 5% platform fee, which on the $200 example is $10.00 rather than $20.00 (Patreon: What is the Founders plan).

Which platform should you choose?

Choose Whop if people are paying for a specific course, paid Discord or Telegram community, or software product and its published 2.7% + $0.30 domestic-card fee suits your prices. Choose Patreon if followers are subscribing to your ongoing output, and accept roughly 13% to 14% all-in on a standard-plan USD payment as the cost of that model. If there is no course, download, or community to prepare, Brillay lets you list what you will make and take the paid request before the deliverable exists.

Choose Whop if you sell a repeatable digital product, including:

  • A course
  • A paid Discord or Telegram community
  • Software access
  • A downloadable or access-based product
  • A subscription centered on a defined product or service

In our judgement Whop is the stronger fit here, because its documentation covers exactly these mechanics: one-time payments and recurring subscriptions configured per product (Whop: set up pricing), checkout across 100+ payment methods in 195 countries, and affiliate payouts priced at 1.25% per transaction.

Choose Patreon if your offer is primarily:

  • Exclusive posts or media
  • Recurring membership tiers
  • Ongoing community access
  • Benefits connected to a regular publishing schedule
  • A continuing relationship between followers and your creative work

In our judgement Patreon is the stronger fit here, and its pricing documentation is built around that model: recurring membership tiers with a distinct micropayment processing rate for tiers priced at $3 or less, alongside optional one-time purchases of posts and collections (Patreon Creator fees overview; Patreon Pricing FAQ).

You can also use both: sell a course or paid community through Whop while maintaining Patreon tiers for followers who want recurring creator content.

Frequently asked questions

Can I use Whop and Patreon at the same time?

Yes. The platforms are not mutually exclusive. A creator can sell a course, software subscription, or paid community through Whop while offering recurring subscriber-only content through Patreon.

When a follower wants one private answer, Paid Questions give them one private question and one written answer at your set price — they pay upfront by card as a guest, without creating an account, with no live call or scheduling, and you reply in writing within the window you set — while Personalized Videos let them pay once for one custom video, with a clear scope and no membership.

Does Whop charge a platform fee like Patreon’s 10%?

Whop’s official fee schedule does not publish a separate platform-fee percentage; it lists card processing at 2.7% + $0.30 per domestic transaction, with additional international-card and currency-conversion charges where applicable.

Patreon charges a 10% standard platform fee for pages published after August 4, 2025, while eligible legacy pages may remain on 5%, 8%, or 11% plans; payment processing and payout fees are separate.

What does a $10 payment actually cost on each platform?

A $10 domestic card sale on Whop costs $0.57 — 2.7% of $10 is $0.27, plus the $0.30 fixed component — leaving $9.43 before payout fees.

A $10 pledge to a standard-plan Patreon page costs $1.59: a 10% platform fee of $1.00 plus USD card processing of 2.9% + $0.30, or $0.59, leaving $8.41 before payout fees.

Do Whop or Patreon require a minimum number of followers?

The official Whop and Patreon pricing sources reviewed for this comparison do not state a follower-count minimum (Whop pricing; Patreon Pricing FAQ). That should not be read as a guarantee about every onboarding, identity-verification, product, or account-eligibility requirement, which each platform sets separately. Brillay has no follower minimum, application, or eligibility review, so the offer works from your first follower.

Commercial success still depends on whether enough people want the product or membership—not merely whether a creator can open a page.

Is Whop only for courses?

No. Whop supports courses, paid communities, software access, and other digital products through the same commerce platform. It can therefore support recurring community access as well as one-time purchases, although its storefront model differs from Patreon’s creator-membership structure.

What if I want to charge for one question or custom video instead of selling a membership?

Whop and Patreon both offer one-time purchase options, but check whether their current tools give you a simple way to sell exactly one private written answer or one custom video. On either platform, check whether you would need to package the request as a product or membership instead of letting someone pay once for the exact answer or video they want.

For disclosure, Brillay publishes this comparison. With Paid Questions and Personalized Videos, you set a fixed one-time price, followers pay upfront, and you deliver later within the window you set; no follower account needed, and the Brillay pricing page sets out what a paid order costs. It is a different transaction type, not a replacement for a product storefront or a membership — for the side-by-side numbers see Brillay vs. Whop and creator platform fees compared, or Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026 for the wider field.

Create your free Brillay page — one link for all your offers, no monthly fee, and payouts in 41 countries.

Start getting paid for the questions and requests you already get

Create your free Brillay link. No monthly fee, you only pay a small platform fee when you get paid. 8% platform fee when a follower pays for work, 5% platform fee on tips and goals. Card processing is separate.

Create your free Brillay link